PRMA Awards, Applications and Guidelines

The Dow Underwriting Excellence Award

The Dow Underwriting Excellence Award is named in honor of a friend and colleague, Edward “Chip” Dow.  Chip served in senior underwriting positions and drove the success of his teams at PURE and AIG Private Client Group. He was a visionary, skilled at identifying issues, problems and trends on the industry horizon and providing creative solutions, without fear of challenging traditional ways.


This award recognizes an underwriter who has demonstrated superior knowledge of the underwriting field, continually thinks outside of the box, works together with their peers to share experiences and knowledge, and is a role model to other underwriters in our industry.

The recipient of this award will be recognized at the 2024 PRMA Annual Summit being held October 28th – 30th in Arlington, TX.

Appropriate Nominees or Applicants:

The recipient of the award should exhibit the following:

  • Underwriter in either an individual contributor or management level role
  • Exhibits Personal Risk Management expertise when advising brokers on their client’s insurance program.
  • Exemplifies strong communication and interpersonal skills with brokers, colleagues,  and peers in the industry.
  • Demonstrates awareness of industry trends and providing creative client solutions

How to Nominate or Apply:

Complete the Dow Underwriting Form and answer as fully and completely as possible. Where appropriate please provide specific examples of how your nominee demonstrates the criteria listed above.

Deadline for entries: August 16th  2024 (5 pm ET)